To my 2nd family: Student Media Group- I LOVE YOU!


So on May 22nd at approximately 2:00pm, I seen a car catch on fire…right with my OWN eyes.

What made it even worse is that this incident was personal. I watched in disbelief as a red jeep caught on fire at Watkins Park, while waiting for my fellow Student Media Group members to arrive. I began to record the car on fire until I realized it was the vehicle of one of MY friends/SMG member.

I was having a conversation like damn….”thts soo fucked up” and look back and look at all my friends, then look back at the car and say “damn, tht car looks familiar”…look back at friends…drop my phone and realize that it is a friend that is missing & tht is his car tht is on fire!

As I cried out for him along with the other members that were there, WE called on God and told him to have favor on him! Psalm 23 never sounded so amazing!

1 The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. 2 He makes me lie down in green pastures; he leads me beside still waters; 3 he restores my soul. He leads me in right paths for his name’s sake. 4 Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I fear no evil; for you are with me; your rod and your staff— they comfort me. 5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord my whole life long.

See as humans, we tend to automatically assume the negative and allow what we see to hinder our faith in God.  (2 Corinthians 5:7- Walk by faith, not by sight)
After a good 30 seconds of freaking the hell out, we (as a team) managed to tap into faith and prayer…called on God & reminded him of HIS word–never to forsaken us! After all the prayer, within 2 minutes…our friends was in our arms as we cried and THANK GOD and told them how much we loved eachother. 

You see, life is never promised tomorrow or even the next second. So, you must always tell the people you love that you love them & never take ANYTHING for guaranteed. 

Burgers cooked from the fire…guess, we can say that they are "well-done"

After a long day, we sat back and was thankful that nobody was harmed and not a scratch appeared on anyone. We all could have been dead, those cars could have blown up and started a forest fire & wiped all of us out! Not a soul was hurt! There goes to show you that material things are just that “MATERIAL” & can never replace anyone.

I am not upset with the fire department and police dispatch any longer but I do want to mention that they did place us on hold for 15 minutes while the car was in flames & took forever responding to the call!

Movingontho…

My Mass Communications family from Student Media Group, I love each of you as if you are my own family! Thank you so much for EVERYTHING that you have done for me; though, I may be the baby of the group and may be a little rock headed at times…I listen to all your parables and pocket them in my heart! I LOVE YOU ALL! 

P.S.–Ya’ll are right…We ended this semester at our 1st Annual Student Media Group Cookout with a “BANG”–literally! 

3 thoughts on “To my 2nd family: Student Media Group- I LOVE YOU!

  1. Brandon Brown says:

    Priya,

    Thank you for caring, and for your prayers during this moment in our day. Soon, all the smoke will blow over with my car troubles and I’ll get back to life as usual.

    Everyone doesn’t realize that “Material” things are replaceable. Life isn’t…

    When you, Rene, and Siccola came over I told Rene that “I’m always gonna be ok”… “God has a shield over me, and I won’t go out like that.” I thank Him for blessing that entire park, and even though there were other cars involved, I hope those people know that their cars will be replaced as well.

    Thanks for hanging out today, it was fun. I won’t let that put a damper on the rest of my life… Talk to you soon! Love you!

Leave a Reply

